Brazilian football superstar’s signature tournament returns to PH

Celebrity and football enthusiast Daniel Matsunaga led the Philippine Team in 2017.

Neymar Jr. is bringing back his signature five-a-side football tournament to the Philippines. Now on its second year, Five Football Tournament is calling all enthusiasts of the sport especially those aged 16 to 25 years, from across the archipelago. Football players that are over 25 years old will still be given the chance to join the competition as there would be two slots allocated for them per team.

Qualifiers from this local tournament will advance to the global round, which will gather players from across the globe. The Global Finals will be organized at the Instituto Projeto Neymar Jr., in Neymar Jr.’s home turf—Praia Grande, Brazil.

Neymar Jr.’s Five Football Tournament implements a set of mechanics that is different from the usual football game. It is designed to be a fast and technical, while at the same time still fun competition celebrating players’ shared passion for playing football.

Neymar Jr.

Not an ordinary football game
Every match is intense and lasts only 10 minutes. Goalkeepers are eliminated and the opposition loses a player every time a team generates scores. Thus, the winner is the one who outplays everyone else.

In 2017, model-celebrity and football enthusiast Daniel Matsunaga led the Philippine Team (Team Naxional), which competed against 53 other teams from various countries worldwide.

Guidance from football experts
This year, former Azkal player Anton del Rosario will help train the players, while renowned coach Hans Smith will be the tournament director. “It’s a unique kind of tournament that keeps the interest in football alive for everybody else,” Smith said. “I’m sure that we will see more participants every year, and hopefully get the whole nation involved.”

Registration for the Five Football Tournament is now open to all Filipino players (male and mixed squads). The event schedule is as follows: Manila Qualifier A is set on April 8 at Blue Pitch, Makati City; Manila Qualifier B on April 14 at Sparta in Mandaluyong City; CEB Qualifier on April 15 in Cebu City; and Finals on April 21 at Turf BGC in Taguig City.

Click this link to register online.