MRT and LRT lines give free ride to passengers on Independence Day

As the country celebrates the 120th anniversary of its independence, the major railway services in Metro Manila are set to provide free rides to commuters at specific times on Tuesday, June 12. This practice has become an annual tradition of such systems.

Light Rail Transit (LRT) Lines 1 and 2 along with the Metro Rail Transit (MRT) Line 3 are offering free rides to all passengers from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. in the morning and from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. in the afternoon.

As usual, those with stored value tickets must swipe their cards at the terminals without incurring any deduction during the specified times. Others can get their temporary cards with zero value for free at the ticketing windows to facilitate their entrance through the terminals.

The Philippine National Railways (PNR) will also give free rides to passengers on its Tutuban to Alabang route on the 7:07 a.m., 7:37 a.m., and 6:07 p.m. trips. Tutuban to Calamba route will accommodate free rides on its 6:37 p.m. trip. Meanwhile, the Alabang to Tutuban route will also offer free rides on its 7:30 a.m. and 8 a.m. trips and on its 6 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. trips in the afternoon.